Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LQ9 with L92 Heads Questions...

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2014, 01:52 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ9 with L92 Heads Questions...

I finally am ready to start my "budget build" that I have been waiting on for a while now. I am looking to replicate the CarCraft article that I found that had very good results: http://www.carcraft.com/techarticles...s/viewall.html

I am totally new to LS motors, I will be using an LQ9 engine that I bought as compared to the LQ4 that they did the article with. Will this be an issue? All I can seem to find is that the pistons are different between the two; so the extra compression from the LQ9 in this case wont be bad thing. I was going to use all of the other parts that they listed, with the exception of GM gaskets instead of FelPro. This will be a carb motor with the GMPP L92 carb intake.

Can anyone chime in as to using the LQ9 will work with this build as opposed to the LQ4?
Old 09-03-2014, 02:47 PM
Launching!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You should be ok, just check ptv clearance with the flat tops of the lq9. Fyi, Holley makes a dual plane intake now for ls3 heads. It's beast and cheaper than the gmpp. I love it
Old 09-03-2014, 03:06 PM
Teching In

I am also wondering if I will have too much compression. Stock LQ9 is 10:1, with the L92 heads, I don't want to be in danger of too much compression for street use.

Wondering if I should dump this LQ9 for an LQ4...
Old 09-03-2014, 03:48 PM
KCS

Received 307 Likes on 207 Posts

Originally Posted by SquareBodyTruckGuy
I am also wondering if I will have too much compression. Stock LQ9 is 10:1, with the L92 heads, I don't want to be in danger of too much compression for street use.

Wondering if I should dump this LQ9 for an LQ4...
Do you plan on running a turbo or blower? If not, keep the LQ9. It's not like you'll be anywhere near the limit of pump gas with the L92 heads.
Old 09-03-2014, 03:53 PM
Teching In