Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Crane Gold Race 1.8 RRs - HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2006, 05:21 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Crane Gold Race 1.8 RRs - HELP!

Just installed a set of Crane's 1.8 RRs (I'm a newbie) and I'm a bit confused about the instructions which state that the adjusting nuts should be turned in 1/4 turn increments for a total of 2 full turns (i.e. 8 times) when adjusting for lifter preload.

My dilemma is that I can't turn the adjusting nuts more than 4 times (i.e. 1 full turn) before the nut sits on the rocker's spindle. And the set screws sit half way above the adjusting nuts so they don't look like they interfere with the stud bolts. I fear I might have done something wrong in the install although I believe I have followed the instructions exactly. Obviously, I don't want to fire up the engine until I get some advice.

Could anybody please advise me of what I might have done wrong and offer me some suggestions before I start the engine?

Old 02-24-2006, 06:10 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

http://www.vincihighperformance.com/...20PAGE%20.HTML
Old 02-24-2006, 09:08 AM
Teching In

This is the 'revised' version... The bit where I'm still confused is in 'Step 2', below. I still only get around 1 full turn (i.e. 4 one-quarter turns) before the adjusting nut hits the rocker spindle... should I back it out a couple of turns and tighten the set screws... and then test by turning the engine over?

Doing the compression test seems to be a little over the top - trying to avoid spending more money? (Please go easy with me, it's the first time I've done any work on the engine. )

Proper technique for adjusting VHP / Crane Roller Rocker for the LS1 / LS2 / LS6 engines.