Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Broken Valve Spring

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2007, 08:17 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Broken Valve Spring

I've been running a TR224 with 918 springs for about 2 1/2 years (16-20K miles) without issue. I was swapping cam/springs a couple of days ago and when I removed one of the springs, it came apart in my hand. Lucky me!

The spring fractured in the first coil from the retainer just past the flat part of the upper coil. The crack started on the top of the wire where it had been rubbing the top coil. Based on the surface appearance, it appears this spring was shot peened. Where the coils rubbed it had worn through the peened layer. That reduced the fatigue life of this spring.

TR recommended checking the springs at 20K miles at the time I bought them--so they were pretty close. This one had at most that many miles on it and probably a few thousand less. Something to consider when it comes time to check the springs. Another thought, I'm not sure I would have caught this if I hadn't actually removed the spring. A quick visual inspection indicated all was well. I would have had to actually spot the crack in the wire.

FYI - These were purchased after the problem period with the 918s.
Old 01-02-2007, 11:03 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

same thing happend to me when i was swapping heads.. noticed i had a weird tick when i was driving around like 2500-3000 rpms with like 80% throttle.. took the heads off and noticed one of the retainers looked like it was slipping off the top of the spring.. it was definitly broken, and i was definitly lucky i didnt drive that car longer or else i could have been in some trouble. from now on ill spend the extra cash and get duals.. i highly recommend you doing that.. BTW i only had my springs for like 9k
Old 01-03-2007, 12:57 AM
TECH Fanatic

I saw that 9K figure in your other post. That's worse than mine. Glad you caught it in time.