Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Texas Speed's LS3 231/236 cam???

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2009, 08:29 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

Default Texas Speed's LS3 231/236 cam???

Anyone have experience with Texas Speed's LS3 231/236 camshaft?

Specs: 231/236 .641"/615" 111 LSA
Old 12-27-2009, 08:43 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by ss.slp.ls1
Anyone have experience with Texas Speed's LS3 231/236 camshaft?

Specs: 231/236 .641"/615" 111 LSA
Why that high of a lift on the intake side?

You should concentrate more on the exhaust side of the heads, that's were these heads suffer. "JMO", I'm no expert on these heads!!! but from all the reading i have done over the past couple of years, the consensus is, the intake side is awesome, but the exhaust side needs work.

That's why you see people making good power with a 218/236 .600"/.614" 112 LSA.....but they fall flat on there face at 5900RPM, an old school-er like me might consider this cam on an 6.0L a mickey mouse cam from just looking at the numbers, my mentors back then would always say......GO BIG, OR GO HOME......but technology has changed, and will continue to change.... but not me....I still type with two fingaz lol....
Old 12-31-2009, 04:48 PM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The camshaft is setup that way because that's what we had the best luck with on the engine dyno. We absolutely don't just select a camshaft & install it in a car without doing tons of testing. That camshaft was a result of many different camshafts that were tested one after another in a effort to maximize overall power across a very broad power band.

I don't believe anyone else in the LS industry spend the developmental time on camshafts that we do here @ TSP.

Largest Stocking Distributor of LS-x Engines / CHECK OUT OUR NEW WEBSITE!

COMP - FAST - PACESETTER - DIAMOND RACING - EAGLE SPECIALTY PRODUCTS - CALLIES - COMETIC GASKETS