Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Harland Sharp LS trunion upgrade review & how to

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2012, 12:13 PM
TECH Addict

Received 79 Likes on 67 Posts

Default Harland Sharp LS trunion upgrade review & how to

There are several threads and videos on installing the Competition Cams trunion upgrade, but not much info available here for the Harland Sharp trunion upgrade. I thought I'd post some info here along with a step-by-step on upgrading the factory rockers now that I've been through it.

A few weeks ago I contacted Hardland Sharp to see what I could learn about their product. I spoke to Randy Jr, son of the owner (Randy Sr) at length about what they offer. Here is a photo:

As an engineer, I was pleased to get real technical information and hear some of the differences between the HS kit and the Comp kit as well as understand the manufacturing processes and tolerances associated with the components. Design wise they are very similar, but HS does have two notable differences. First, HS cross drills their trunions to provide access for splash oil to get to the bearings. You can see this if you look at the ends of the trunion. Rather than being flat like the Comp Cams trunions, they have a hole drilled. Second, the HS trunions include hardened washers between the c-clips and the rocker. This image highlights those features:

The HS parts are 100% US made; the cap screws, retaining clips, washers, and bearings are all US parts. The trunions are US material and centerless ground in house by HS in Strongsville, Ohio. The bearings themselves are the same part from the same US manufacturer as the Comp kit.