LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Does this sound like my clutch is bad?

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2009, 10:24 AM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Does this sound like my clutch is bad?

I have a 94 Trans Am with a LT1 and I believe my clutch is bad. Not sure though because I'm no expert by any means. All my mods are in the sig and the Ram HDX clutch in there now is about 3yrs/20k miles old. Anyway here is what the car is doing.

A couple weeks ago the clutch pedal was shaking real bad when I started the car, not vibrating...I mean SHAKING! I turned the car off and restarted it with no problems ever since. She drove perfect since then until yesterday when on my way to work the car just stopped going into gear. I coasted into a parking lot and tried to get into gear, nothing. Turned the vehicle off and it goes in and out of gear fine, clutch pedal feels nice and firm still, full of fluid. Well I start the car and fight with it until I finally get into 2nd gear. I drive to my mechanic in 2nd gear the whole way (less than a mile), I didn't want to get out of 2nd and risk it not going back in and than I'd have to tow it. At stoplights I just held the clutch in.

Well I get to the shop and shut her off. I decide to try it one more time before I go in and what do you know it shifts just fine now! I end up going to work and it shifts perfect on the way there and when I go to lunch. But then on my way back to work from my lunch break it starts acting up again. I can get in and out of gears but it takes alot of weight and force. I probably could have shifted like this before I drove to the shop but I didn't wanna put that much pressure on it. On the way to work I decide to try shifting without the clutch pedal and it pulls in and out of gear fine that way. Keep in mind I never drive this way I just did this one time to see if it would work better. It's when I depress the pedal that its a PIA to get in and out of gear.