Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS1 PCM is Shot

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2009, 10:47 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS1 PCM is Shot

I bought this car with the engine and trans in it. The engine was built by Turnkey Engines in Oceanside. The engine has a cam and 10:1 pistons in it with no MAP sensor or O2 sensors. The PCM is shot and won't link up to their laptop. I can get another PCM from them for $600 with a propietary tune which can only be accessed by them. For another $150/hr they will dynotune it. This car is a cruiser and I have no intention of racing it. I wondered what you guys thought about their pricing and if there were other options I might use. I looked at the Mallory but they were pretty spendy. I'm new to LS1's and PCM's and have very limited knowledge about them. Any help or ideas would be appreciated.
Old 02-26-2009, 11:39 PM
TECH Enthusiast

First, I think they are way overpriced and I would never let anyone lock my PCM.
What model year are you talking here?
Old 02-26-2009, 11:54 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by highgear
First, I think they are way overpriced and I would never let anyone lock my PCM.
What model year are you talking here?
It's one of their crate engines and it was in the car when I bought it. I bought some parts for it and they told me to get them for a 2004. The locked PCM kind of bothers me too. I would have to drive down to Oceanside about 120 miles to get it tuned. There is a picture of the engine in my garage. Do you have some suggestions for me??

I was going to get a pic but from their site must be down. Here's a little blurb I found: .......Each engine features our patented 5 Wire Plug and Play Harness that includes a state-of-the-art Delphi ECM with a Turn Key precision-engineered calibration.

Last edited by 60 Nomad; 02-27-2009 at 12:00 AM.
Old 02-27-2009, 12:19 AM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post