Wheels & Tires Forged | Billet | Cast | Radials | Slicks

Why do taller tires effect ride?

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2009, 12:20 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Why do taller tires effect ride?

I hear everywhere on here that taller, like 18 or 19 inch rims will make our cars handle like crap, why? I understand there is less rubber but the ride is the suspensions job and not the tires job. so why would bigger rims make the ride crappy?
Old 09-23-2009, 12:31 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I am no expert, but it completely makes sense to me.

Imagine you had a large marble, and you rapped it with 1 layer of rubber bands and you dropped it on the ground. Now imagine if you had a marble and rapped it in several layers of rubber bands and dropped it on the ground.

The suspension does affect it a lot, but the tires affect the ride as well. The tires will absorb those little bumps.
Old 09-23-2009, 01:07 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I do understand that but my theory is you buy your tires and stuff for traction not suspension. I know it does absorb shock, but really if you get a well adjusted suspension you should be able to run 18's or 19's without a problem, I would think, maybe i'm wrong.
Old 09-23-2009, 01:16 PM
TECH Addict

Think of it in an anatomy way....

So you are wearing shoes that have thick soles on them. You are on your feet all day. Every joint in your body take "shock" while you walk or stand all day long. You wear very comfortable shoes with thick soles and throughout the day you do not get fatigued or sore. Think of those as 15" tires and wheels.

Now, put on a pair of sandles and go throughout your regular day. Your feet get sore. You get fatigued a lot easier and at the end of the day you find that your joints are sore, your back is sore, and you are tired. Think of those as 18" tires and wheels.