Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2001 Silverado Ignition coil swap problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2009, 02:28 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Silverado Ignition coil swap problems

hi, im a newbie member to the site but i have a lot of mechanical knowledge of gen 3 ls1 engines but for some reason i cannot figure this problem i have now. here the scoop.

i have a 2001 silverado with a 4.8L V8. the oem ignition coils on my truck recently had problems. 3 of them were bad. so instead of just buying 3 new coils i thought id rather buy a whole new set. I have the delphi (square looking) coils on my truck. the delhi coils are the coils that require the 10.5" long spark plug wires. I checked online and i found serveral froums that say that when you upgrade the ignition from the delphi type to the ac delco type that you get more horse power and a little nit more fuel economy. the ac delco type ignition coils are completely different from the delphi type. they are barrel shaped and have a different ignition coil harness and a different mounting plate. i found a new set of OEM take offs on ebay and i bought them from my truck. the donor coils came off a 2004 tahoe. i went to my local autozone and asked the supervisor there (he's a freind). he said that he didnt see why i couldnt swap the coils out, all that i would need are the ac delco wires and mounting plate.