Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My power steering pump went out and took the altenator with it!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2009, 07:05 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry My power steering pump went out and took the altenator with it!!!!

ARRRGG!!! My power steering pump took a ****, and released it feces on my altenator!!! Why o why did GM put the Altenator directly under the power steering pump! O well, looks like I get to use the 118 pc. Craftsman tool set my girlfriend bought me for christmas Any advice for those who have replaced these parts? I'll be using a Haynes tear down/build up guide from Autozone...
Old 12-22-2009, 10:21 PM
Launching!

I have no idea why GM put the alternator where it is. Im an expert at changing them, can get it off in like 5 mins. My powersteering pump has gone out twice, both times taking the Alt. with it. Timing cover gasket leak also killed it a couple times before I figured out what was causing it. Im actually going through the powersteering pump/alt thing right now. Im not sure were to get a good replacement, Have already had 2 advance auto parts ones on it, and personally, I would do a power steering delete before I bought another from them.

Lucky a guy near me rebuilds them for cheap so im not out too much money.

Anyways, I do not think there is any good way to approach the PS pump. Unless you plan on pulling the pully with the pump in the car (big PITA), you will have to remove it still attached to the bracket, which is still a PITA. After awhile of looking at it and the bolts I have to remove I broke down and just pulled the water pump to get the bottom most bolt