Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Patience gone, so is my monsoon. Need suggestions on rebuild.

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2003, 08:42 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Patience gone, so is my monsoon. Need suggestions on rebuild.

Hey guys/gals, i've decided not to take chances on wasting money/potential on aftermarket speakers to work with the monsoon H/U and amp. I am going to take my time and remove all of the components and start from scratch.

I am not an expert in audio and would need some advice on what to get.
My goals are to get a head unit that fits in the existing port. I would rather not get one of those adapter kits (had bad experiences with them).
I would like to have only one amp, two max. I like keeping things simple.
Finally, for speakers, I would like to put coaxials up front (same size as stock), subs in the sail panels (same size as stock) and the same for the rear hatch.

I am finding this stuff interesting and am anxious to get started. Your adivice will be appreciated.
Old 12-31-2003, 12:18 PM
TECH Resident

Just a quick note...the adapter kit looks really great on camaros, as its one of the few that sits flush with the cd player and doesnt poke out. How come you didnt like it?
Old 12-31-2003, 12:50 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by SidewayzOZ
Just a quick note...the adapter kit looks really great on camaros, as its one of the few that sits flush with the cd player and doesnt poke out. How come you didnt like it?
In the past, when I had an Old's Quad 442 (pretty cool car) I had an aftermarket deck installed with a kit (Oldsmobile's had the big Delco H/U's). After a while, the radio would disconnect after hitting bumps. It would drive me nuts . Years later, I bought a 1999 V6 Camaro coupe. I had a CD H/U installed with a detachable face. The same thing happened after a couple of months. Almost every bump.