Small Block & Big Block Chevy Specific Mouse & Rat Motor Discussion & Conversions

1996 Tahoe???s

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2010, 06:59 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 Tahoe???s

Well my Dad Gave me his old 96 Tahoe and I want to do some boltons for the hell of it. Just like Headers,intake, and a catback. How much would this help a Vortec 350? Plus if I wanted to do a cam ( just for more lowend TQ and a choppy idle ) what would be a good size cam to look at? I have Zero knowledge about the Vortec's so please help me!!
Old 04-06-2010, 10:37 PM
In-Zane Moderator

Received 32 Likes on 19 Posts

Make sure you have a tuner is the area that can get the PCM to make the engine run right, cold air and headers with full exhaust will give it some more grunt, but the cam should be the last mod so you know there is someone that will be able to make it run like it was meant to be in there. The lumpy chop you want will call for a stall converter also, so think about it before you go with a larger cam, there are plenty that are designed to make more torque and a bit more power that will sound a touch heavier than stock and can be easily tuned.
Old 04-07-2010, 02:40 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by ZONES89RS
Make sure you have a tuner is the area that can get the PCM to make the engine run right, cold air and headers with full exhaust will give it some more grunt, but the cam should be the last mod so you know there is someone that will be able to make it run like it was meant to be in there. The lumpy chop you want will call for a stall converter also, so think about it before you go with a larger cam, there are plenty that are designed to make more torque and a bit more power that will sound a touch heavier than stock and can be easily tuned.