I want to start a business but I need some advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2010, 07:07 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I want to start a business but I need some advice

Ok so here's the deal. I have a decent paying job with good paying benefits, so I know I am already fortunate. But I am not passionate about my job. I'm a graduate of UH with a degree in Consumer Science and I feel drawn to entrepreneurship so much. Damn school

I thoroughly enjoy working on cars, bikes & all the other toys out there and learning about all of the new stuff that there is out there for them. I want to ease into a business dealing with the aftermarket industry and I have an idea but I need some input.

I am very good at detailing cars. I have a lot of experience with engine detailing, clay barring, wheel polishing and have even gone as far as cleaning an entire suspension and frame for someone who was prepping their car for shows.

What I want to do is start out a small (probably weekends only to start) operation where I hand detail vehicles. It will be only me working there and I'd take appointments to get the vehicles in there. I would plan to set up shop on the NW side of Houston in a small warehouse setting with a bay door to drive the vehicles indoors while working on them. Customers could drop their cars off or wait (whichever is convenient for them) and I would do all of the work myself. I can usually detail a full size car in about an hour to an hour and 15 minutes. Trucks are about the same with the right tools, maybe just a tad longer. Clay barring and any additional stuff obviously takes longer and more time would have to be allotted. I found a place reasonably cheap right off of 290 & Hwy 6 and don't know exactly how much it would be monthly but I can't imagine it being more than $5-600 for the space I would need.