Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

68 F-body ls1, tranny??

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2010, 10:35 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 68 F-body ls1, tranny??

I will soon be starting my sbc to ls1 conversion in my 68 camaro, i was wondering what transmission makes for the least PITA to convert, im currently sitting over a weak 3 speed auto( only has about 1,500 miles on it since rebuild), im wondering if i should just leave the existing tranny in there for now and build up the rest of the car, suspension brakes rearend etc., or should i just do what i really want and drop the 6 speed manual like i want. Also should i commit to a specific tranny before getting my hands on the PCM, or is it easy enough to convert? Newbie here so I will not take offense if you "dumb it down" for me. Thanks in advance for any input.
Old 06-07-2010, 11:05 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I put the ls6 from my z06 in my 68 with a kiesler 5 speed and it is a great setup. I did a conversion with the 6 speed on another car and did not feel like the extra overdrive gear was very useful and I like the smaller lighter 5 speed.
Old 06-08-2010, 12:56 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I would commit to a tranny now.. The least work would be a 4L60E, no trans tunnel work needed. with a T56 you will have put some major effort to message or reconstruct the tunnel, it is a large transmission. A Kiesler 5 speed or the like is also another good choice.
But remember that the Gen III/IV block do not have a provision for a Z-Bar stud. You will have to usa a hyd Master/Slave (so old school bell housing and 4 speed are a problem).

I have a T56 in my Chevelle with 4.11 gears.. so i can still cruise on the highway..70mph at about 2k.. and still get over 23+mpg.

Last edited by bczee; 06-08-2010 at 01:05 AM.
Old 06-08-2010, 01:37 AM
TECH Resident

i went with a t56 and i love it
Old 06-08-2010, 11:43 AM
Teching In