Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

is this cam toast?And what about my engine?

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 07:37 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default is this cam toast?And what about my engine?

so i was in the middle of taking out my cam that came with the carto go smaller and noticed this on the cam and scared me..is it done not worth nothing but a paper weight? and what about my engine? thanks

cam is a LG G5x3 with 77k on the engine

Old 10-25-2010, 07:55 PM
TECH Enthusiast

IMO the marks on the lobes are not that bad Id say they could be polished as long as there not groves. As for the chip id say the cam is toast i don't know of anyway to fix that. Did the engine have valve float? Ive seen a few other threads where valve float caused the lifter the lift off the cam and then come back and smack the cam chipping it like yours.

Let me just say im not a expert though so if Im wrong about anything don't flame me.
Old 10-25-2010, 07:58 PM
11 Second Club

junk.....
Old 10-25-2010, 07:58 PM
TECH Fanatic

no grooves just looks like a big cam but yea the chip makes me think its toast also..the cam i can care less about..would have been great to make a couple dollars off of it but thats a dream now..im more worried about internal damage..im going to have to look into what valve floating is
Old 10-25-2010, 08:00 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by 408Maro
no grooves just looks like a big cam but yea the chip makes me think its toast also..the cam i can care less about..would have been great to make a couple dollars off of it but thats a dream now..im more worried about internal damage..im going to have to look into what valve floating is
Its where you no longer have enough spring pressure to control the valve train at high rpms. How High do you rev the engine? What kind of springs do you have and how many miles?
Old 10-25-2010, 08:03 PM
TECH Fanatic