Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ford Probe Turbo 4.8L :)

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2011, 12:24 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ford Probe Turbo 4.8L :)

Hey guys, I have been here for a while, I just don't post much because I am new to the ls motors and have been quietly doing research and buying parts. I recently picked up a 95 Probe GT that had been converted to rear wheel drive. I got the chassis, it's caged, and came with all suspension, and a 9in rear end.

Over the next three days I will be mounting up the motor to make the tranny mount, route the ecu wiring, and get the fuel sorted out.

I am sure I will need the experts advise here on the board, as I have many questions about the wiring and HPTuners(which is what I will be using to tune the car once its put together)

As for the build, it's a 2002 4.8L with ARP rod bolts, LS2 timing chain, LS1 cam, LS1 intake, LS6 valve springs, and that's about it for the motor. The oil pan is a GTO oil pan, because it will have to clear the manual steering rack, I milled the back end down about three to four inches for more clearance.

The tranny is a 700r4, Built(not sure what this all intails), with a 2200 stall, and reverse manual valve body. Also I will be using a fourth gen aluminium drive shaft, until I break it....

The ECU and harness are from a 04 GTO, which has been mostly ripped apart, basically ready to start the harness layout in the engine bay, once I put the motor back in.

Here is a link to the thread I made on another forum, has more info.....
http://forums.probetalk.com/showthread.php?t=1701298162

And Here are some pics(crappy cell phone I apologize). I will update saturday, sunday and monday as I get more and more done with the car.

On to the pics:

Oil pan

John

EDIT: More pics, engine and rear end

Poor car out bravin the weather(just had eight inches of snow on it, but it's almost 60 degrees out!!!)