Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Thought i had synchro problem but i was wrong

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2011, 07:36 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Thought i had synchro problem but i was wrong

The T56 in my 2000 TA was becoming hard to get into 3rd and sometimes 4th gear, so i pulled it out replaced all the synchros, put it back in and now it is pretty much the same. It will not hardly go into 3rd (unless u jam it in) and it will go into 4th but sometimes it gets stuck in 4th and wont hardly come out. Anybody have any suggestions?
Old 05-17-2011, 07:48 AM
Launching!

clutch and pressure plate?
Old 05-17-2011, 08:07 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 63 Likes on 51 Posts

slave cylinder
Old 05-17-2011, 08:16 AM
On The Tree

i didnt really think it would be a clutch or hydraulic issue since i ONLY have a problem in third and fourth, but I am a newb to manual trannies
Old 05-17-2011, 08:27 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

How did the actual fork & pads look? If its the stock fork, they are notorious for breaking/cracking and that will cause an issue like that. Also does your trans still have the plastic shift fork pads? Any of those internal parts being broke can cause an issue like that (I had the same issue before i put my stage 2+ trans into my car)
Old 05-17-2011, 08:30 AM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by firemech21
How did the actual fork & pads look? If its the stock fork, they are notorious for breaking/cracking and that will cause an issue like that. Also does your trans still have the plastic shift fork pads? Any of those internal parts being broke can cause an issue like that (I had the same issue before i put my stage 2+ trans into my car)
It does have the stock forks, but the guy who rebuilt it said they looked fine
Old 05-17-2011, 08:31 AM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by 99peweterls1
clutch and pressure plate?