General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Coolant level sensor advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2011, 07:33 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question Coolant level sensor advice

Ok, so I'm not a newbie and I did search, but this is a bit unique....

Cliff's notes:
1. Replaced coolant sensor, cold dispstick read above hot full line, dummy light was on
2. Added coolant when cold, dummy light off.
3. Warmed up car, dummy light came back on. Added more coolant.
4. Dummy light turned off, but now Hot coolant level is near top of filler tube.
5. Either the dipstick or the new sensor are lieing to me - should I worry about the hot fill being high?

My low coolant level light was on recently and the coolant was actually low on the dipstick, so I added a bit. Light stayed on when hot, not when cold.

I replaced the sensor with a new duralast sensor from Autozone. When I pulled the sensor some cold coolant leaked out. I replaced the sensor, and BEFORE adding more fluid i checked the dipstick and it was reading ABOVE the hot line.

I started the car and the new sensor read low coolant fluid when cold, so despite the dipstick saying it was already overfull, I added some more, the light turned off.

Drove around until got warm, light came back on. Added more coolant, light turned off when hot, but now my coolant is right below the fill cap.

SO WTF, the dipstick reads high when it's low and the light doesn't go off until it's over full - ANY IDEAS? Sorry for the long post, but i'm lost.
Old 06-15-2011, 07:51 PM
TECH Fanatic

My car has been doing that for a while, never really looked into it I know theres coolant in there. Hope you find it so I can fix mine.
Old 06-15-2011, 09:46 PM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The sensors are faulty, gm dropped them on `00+ f-bodies for that reason. Unplug it and your problem is solved.