LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Electric Water Pump Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2012, 12:26 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electric Water Pump Question

Hey guy, i'm pretty new to the LT1 platform. I recently bought a 97 Z28 that had a good bit of work done to it including a meziere electric water pump. The engine is pretty fresh (only about 1000 miles or so since it was rebuilt and i think the water pump is fairly new. Yesterday i had it up on my lift and i noticed there was a steady drop of coolant comin from the weep hole in the bottom of the pump. Does that mean the pump is bad? Do they make some kind of rebuild kit for it instead of buying another $270 pump? I honestly dont know how old the pump is but it looks pretty clean which leads me to believe its fairly new. Thanks in advance for any help.
Old 10-12-2012, 12:53 PM
TECH Resident

Mez can rebuild it. Call em and ask
Old 10-12-2012, 12:57 PM
11 Second Club

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

is the weep from the bottom of the aluminum pump housing or from the bottom of the electric motor housing?
Old 10-12-2012, 01:02 PM
10 Second Club

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by 96capricemgr
is the weep from the bottom of the aluminum pump housing or from the bottom of the electric motor housing?
x2?

asdf
Old 10-12-2012, 01:02 PM
Staging Lane

Its from the little weep hole at the bottom of the motor housing. Sending it to mez for a rebuild sounds like a good bit of downtime. I wonder if the price difference would be worth it.
Old 10-12-2012, 01:06 PM
11 Second Club

You could buy a second and still send this one for rebuild so next time you have a spare. Most of the advocates of electric pumps on the street specifically say to keep a second one onhand because they can fail suddenly and completely and the parts store down the road wont have one.