Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hp Tuner BE vs PE on a 3 bar OS

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2012, 07:25 AM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Hp Tuner BE vs PE on a 3 bar OS

I was just curious which route to take on tuning a 3 bar os with 15-20 psi. It seems like it would make sense to have it reference the PE table and have a single target of 13-12.5 any time the engine was out of boost and then add in the additional fuel with the boost enrichment (be) table for when it is in boost. Is there any disadvantages to doing it this way as opposed to doing it all through PE or a blend of the two? This is my first time tuning a turbo LS with HP Tuner. I have owned and tuned multiple turbo cars but they have all been other platforms or used a stand alone ecu.
Old 12-24-2012, 10:57 AM
FormerVendor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

That's the way you would think it should be however on HPTuners custom OS the BE table isn't referenced quick enough to enrich when the condition occurs. I had a car that delayed nearly 2 full seconds in boost before BE finally kicked in. PE is instantaneous so with that said I never use BE anymore. Sucks cause who wants 11's AFR out of boost but under load? I know I don't.
Old 12-24-2012, 12:32 PM
TECH Addict

So be is effectively useless?
Old 12-24-2012, 01:25 PM
10 Second Club

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I have used both without problems.
BE is very useful with root supercharged cars because they can enter into boosted areas at low throttle and low RPM conditions. PE can't deal with those situations without getting rich AFR at low RPM (bad for mileage).

I use PE without MAP or RPM delays, only with TPS as an enabler
I use BE to start around N/A WOT MAP values.

It takes a little adjusting to make it right. Every setup is different and even some turbo setups can give surprises and make boost without the prope enrichment so you need to be careful and test all driving conditions, not only WOT
Old 12-24-2012, 02:22 PM
TECH Addict