Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

Inherited a 2002 CETA

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2013, 07:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Inherited a 2002 CETA

Hi. I am very new to the LS1 community. My father had a few Trans Am's over the years, his final version was a 2002 Collectors Edition that he bought brand new. It became mine a few months ago. It hasn't been out of the garage in 4+ years and only has 1284 miles, never out in the snow or rain. This particular car is the T-top version with a 6 speed manual transmission. The only option on the car is the Hurst Short-Throw. I've joined this community to hopefully get some advice on selling the car. I don't believe in holding on to something like this and not being able to enjoy it, cars are made to drive in my opinion. However, I do realize this car should belong with someone that can hold onto it and keep the mileage relatively close to the current total. Anyway, that's the short version. I am happy to talk about it with anyone that is interested in finding out more of the story and hopefully I can get some solid advice here. My goal is to have it started and backed out of the garage in the next few days so I can snap a few pictures to share.

Last edited by MyCN18; 04-16-2013 at 08:11 PM.
Old 04-16-2013, 07:29 PM

By the way, I know enough about mechanics to be dangerous. Is there anything I should do to prepare a car to be started that has been sitting for so long? Besides take it off the jacks and put a new battery in it, the obvious.
Old 04-16-2013, 07:55 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If the car has not been started for a while, here is what I'd do.

1. Fuel pressure tester: Test fuel pressure, around 40$ for a tester.
2. Change the oil.
3. Check the voltage on the battery, charge if necessary.
4. Start it up.
5. Upload pics.

Originally Posted by MyCN18