Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

Lets talk time attack/autox with domestic cars.

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2014, 09:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lets talk time attack/autox with domestic cars.

Alright I'm a newb to this forum but no where close to not understanding racing whether it be drag racing and or autox/scca/time attack.

I was currently building my little 98RS (Subaru) GC8 for time attack and talking to my uncle's (who are all very well rounded in the GM world (between Camaros, Nova's, Chevelles, to the F body ls1 Camaros and trans am's along with corevettes) they ventured to get me the knowledge I need to make a jump back into domestics after being with imports for close to 5 years now.

Now where this thread is starting, biggest key is power to weight, which depending on the class you run can either mean a full interior car, to a stripped out and caged, to being able to remove the sound deadening in the car to running lexan glass.

My main thing is obviously there are ways to be able to reduce weight purchasing the correct parts. Hopefully soon i'll be in a 98-02 Trans am that I'd like to build for time attack again utilizing full interior (as I have a daughter 1 year old) but my concern is every build I see, WHERE ARE THE PARTS I'VE COME TO KNOW WITH IMPORTS!?

I see stock wheels with upgraded brakes and a heavy exhaust, or stock body panels.... Where is the weight reduction that doesn't involve the interior?!

My Subaru as tiny as it is, I purchased 18x9.5 Enkei RPF1's... Why you may ask? Only the fact that 18 inch wheels have a more proper contact patch along with little tire flex... ON top of that these wheels only weigh 17lbs!

I know stock c5/6/7 wheels are at least 19-25lbs. but every time I see an upgrade done its on stock wheels.