Sponsored by:

Smog Legal CA Road Racing H/C Recommendation

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2004, 11:03 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Smog Legal CA Road Racing H/C Recommendation

Hello To All LS1Tech'ers:

I am new the forum and would appreciate any of your expert guidance.

After mining the sight for the last couple of days, I am looking for some general recommendations on a pending upgrade for a 2001 Z06 that is used as a daily driver and weekend hobbyist road racer. What I am looking to do is upgrade the current stock LS6 to obtain more reliable rwhp and torque out of the existing motor without creating significant maintenance, reliability and smog issues. As I am only a hobbyist road racer, ultimate HP and TQ are not the issue, I just want more power than the current set up while still being able to use the car every day.

My thoughts are to utilize the following:

1. CNC ported AFR 205's
2. Some reasonable cam, 220/220 114 seems to be the prevalent recc, (how much lift and whose cam should I use?)
3. Any corresponding necessary upgrade to the rocker arms (if necessary), valve springs, keepers, lifters, pushrods, etc...
4. New ported oil pump (e.g. Katech or similar)
5. New double roller timing chain like the Rollmaster or similar
6. Ported throttle body
7. Blackwing
8. ARP head bolt fasteners

I plan on running stock exhaust and LT header currently won't pass visual and plan on leaving the bottom end stock until its rebuild time. I plan on running CA pump gas only. Dyno tuning will be done with the above. I am not interested in an underdrive pulley as on track days, oil temp is still 250. (It used to almost 300).