Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question on hydraulic lifters

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2005, 12:12 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question on hydraulic lifters

Anyone know at what rpm hydrualic lifters start to 'float'.
Mine seem to start about 6500 rpm.
Old 06-02-2005, 12:38 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It's the springs that cause valve float. I don't know what you are talking about. You'd have to give us a LOT more information on what your setup is to help you out.
Old 06-02-2005, 12:57 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by 777
It's the springs that cause valve float. I don't know what you are talking about. You'd have to give us a LOT more information on what your setup is to help you out.

Excuse me for my ignorance. I am relatively new to LS1 motors. I am just trying to determine the rpm range of my motor.

I've had some experience in the past with the first generation small block chevy. The problem on those motors was that the hydraulic lifter would 'float' at about 6500 rpm. In other words, at high rpm, the orifices within the lifter that allowed the oil to circulate back and forth (hence, hydraulic lifter) were not large enough to allow the fluid too pass under high rpm (6500+). The lifter would then 'float'. This was one of the main drivers for going to a solid cam since it allowed you to extend your rpm range.

The only reason why I am asking is because I may want to go to a solid roller cam someday, but not sure if I can justify it just now.

I've already have the heavy duty springs and retainers.
Old 06-02-2005, 01:10 PM
11 Second Club

Originally Posted by 10SECDWS6
Excuse me for my ignorance. I am relatively new to LS1 motors. I am just trying to determine the rpm range of my motor.