Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rethinking my setup...What do you think??

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2005, 02:37 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rethinking my setup...What do you think??

Well, I've been putting this "package" together for about 2 months now. I'm down to only needing/wanting a few things to get it where I want it, & have had a change of heart. My setup looks like this:

Precision Porting stage 3 heads www.precisionporting.com/index_files/Page441.htm
LGM G5X3 114 cam
PRC gold valve spring kit
Trick Flow 7.4 pushrods
Rollmaster double roller
LS6 oil pump
160* stat
36# flow matched injectors

& I'm wanting either a LS6 intake or FAST 90 to complete it. The problem is, I'm rethinking my cam selection. My car is a 6sp, & my dd, so I really don't want to lose any low end on it. Although, I will be doing quite a bit of drag racing after the install.

I'm considering a smaller cam, something like a FM13/14, TSP 233/239, maybe the torquer, or Magic Stick V.3??? I will say this, I'm not all that comfortable reving the $hit out of it, so that should help me make a decision.

What do you think guys??

-Tucker

Last edited by TSDuke; 09-20-2005 at 09:20 AM.
Old 09-19-2005, 06:55 PM
TECH Resident

Don't be a *****. That's what I think.
Old 09-19-2005, 07:42 PM
12 Second Club

I'd just use a stcok Timing chain. The double roller is a pain in the *** and you will rarely hear of a stock timing chain breaking. Me and my friends have a crapload of cars at the tracks even in the 10's with stock chains. I forgot the reason with the Double roller, maybe someone can chime in.
Old 09-19-2005, 07:51 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Use the LS2 chain. It's heavier and plenty. If you ever get to W.S. you can see the FM13 in my car, an A4. In fact come to the car show next month. Here's a link. Click on the yellow copy.
http://www.modernautonet.com/
Joe
Old 09-19-2005, 08:54 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts