New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What is everyone's opinion on salvage title cars?

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2005, 12:47 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is everyone's opinion on salvage title cars?

Well my situation is im a college student so i cant afford an expensive *** z/28 or anything but instead of getting like a 98 w/ 175000 miles i found a couple 2000 z28s w/ 50kish miles and salvage titles but they only had body damage, no engine or frame damage and cars have been running fine since accident, for about 6 grand. i heard to just straight up stay away from salvage titles but if its just body damage is it ok? what do you guys think?
Old 09-22-2005, 12:56 PM
TECH Fanatic

I have an uncle who fixes brand new salvaged cars and they come out perfect. He'll drive them for a while and then sell them... It really depends on who did the work on the car, but a salvage titled car can be good, I would just be really careful. I wouldn't pay much for it and also I wouldn't get it unless you plan on keeping it for a long time because you will have problems selling it because of the title.
Old 09-22-2005, 01:14 PM
On The Tree

cuts the value in half thats all i know
Old 09-22-2005, 01:18 PM
TECH Enthusiast

It depends...

1. Are you hanging onto the car?
2. Whats the extent of damage?
3. How was the repair Job?
4. Why was it salvaged?

If you plan onto hanging onto the car then it may be a good idea to buy one, especially if price is a factor for your.

If it was light damage, but enough to salvage the car out, then it may be a good buy. If it was a bad accident then I would walk away.

How does the over all appearance of the car look? Body panels ok? etc etc etc

I personally wouldnt buy a car with a salvaged title unless I was fixing it. My Uncle has a partner and they fix salvaged cars and sell them. I used to help, and am pretty good at picking out cars that are "good buys".