Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can someone tell me what this guy is trying to tell me(for a cutout)

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2005, 12:42 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Can someone tell me what this guy is trying to tell me(for a cutout)

I asked him if I will need to buy a y pipe separately(it is an auction for a QTP QTEC E-CUTOUT ELECTRONIC CUTOUT CUT OUT 3" *NEW*)

You don't, but you could use it. I just think you'll end up spending more for nothing going that route as opposed to just welding the right angle on your existing exhaust. Go ask a welder, or cll one. They back me up.

Also, just an informational notation for you, any good welder (I am a welder) would simply use a small piece of 3 inch piping (AL or ST), or flare (if piping is smaller than 3 inches)from a smaller pipe, and cut an ellipse in it and a hole in the existing piping and weld it in one piece at the downpipe (If turbo) or after cat (if N-A). As opposed to cutting a section out of the existing exhaust and welding two points overhead, undercar. It's actually harder to do it with a y-pipe, most welders weld exhaust pieces with the exhaust in place for good fitment, it's hard to weld the top of any exhaust while in place, and therefore easier to weld to a cut-out part of existing piping, also requiring one less weld undercar, there-by saving even more money/time for the customer PLUS a more finished/professional look. This is just my professional opinion. The y-pipe was included in QTP's later kits for DIYers so that they could use band-clamps or exhaust clamps, which is just jerry-rigging IMO. One weld usually costs $25 with tungsten. Just trying to give you a big picture POV, not just some sales garbage. I simply have no need for this part and would be happy if it sold at $80.00..

anyone have a diagram of what he's saying?
Old 12-30-2005, 12:45 AM
TECH Enthusiast