Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

cutout before cats

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2006, 04:23 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default cutout before cats

Hi all, I am new to Ls1 world. Coming over from a Dodge truck. I've got a 2000 ss convertible now. Planning headers, etc. I'm going to do long tubes and cutout and retain the cats. I want a cutout somewhere before cats.

I wanted to do a single cutout after the y-pipe... but I see I've got 2 cats and they are way up before the y-pipe. I'd rather not do 2 cutouts... just because I don't want to constantly be replacing gaskets. Can I do a single cat after the y-pipe? Can I even move the cats without incurring the wrath of the emissions people? Do the cats work as well when you move them down the line?

Thanks for the help.
Old 01-10-2006, 04:51 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

first off where do you live?

if you put cut outs before the cats where the are now you will get cold air in the o2 sensors and you will run rich.

i dont think you can put a cat that far down past the y-pipe, exhaust gas has to be hott for the cats to work, it wouldnt be efficicient enough and im pretty sure you wouldnt pass a test.

i think the best thing to do it put on high flow cats and put a cut out right after the y-pipe meets.
Old 01-10-2006, 04:58 PM
!LS1 11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Yup, under the passenger seat in the floorboard niche, in the I-pipe, before the axle. That's where many people place the cutout.
Old 01-10-2006, 05:15 PM
Teching In

That answers that. Thanks. I don't mind the hiflow cats, but it would sure would be cheaper to simply bypass the cats at the track.