Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

SuperMaxx Install...What Else While I'm At It?

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2006, 11:45 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SuperMaxx Install...What Else While I'm At It?

Will be installing a Dynatech Supermaxx header set on my 2002 Firehawk Trans Am soon and wanted to know what else is recommended while I'm at it?
Their installation PDF file is very thorough.
At one point, they mention "good time to go ahead and change out plugs and wires if you need them" since the stock manifolds are off. They also mentioned a few other things while all that is out and being replaced.
I'm totally down with the SuperMaxx System after consulting with folks like GMMG, whose exhaust I've been running for 2 years now.
Is there anything else to consider doing while it's up in the air?
Will celebrate it's 5th birthday in October and I'm all for proper maintenance.
Old 07-02-2006, 09:21 AM
TECH Fanatic

I have the supermaxx with the gmmg,its SICK.
Old 07-02-2006, 09:42 AM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by redtail2426
I have the supermaxx with the gmmg,its SICK.
Awesome! Can't wait to hear it now

Did you have any issues as far as install?

Did they mate up nicely to the GMMG exhaust?

I have the SLP Y-Pipe on the car. Should I stay with it or do I have to use the Dynatech Y-Pipe?

As nice as the GMMG sounds, they highly commended this combo for max performance and even more ground-shaking sound
Old 07-02-2006, 09:47 PM
TECH Resident

Do the poly motor mount while the headers are out.

B
Old 07-03-2006, 06:07 AM
Staging Lane

I installed a set on my 01 hawk with manual trans on Saturday. Observations/issues:

I had no problems removing stock system. I sprayed all bolts several times and let soak for an hour. I took a small wire brush to the bolts/studs before going at them and then sprayed some more.