Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tips for a new 1/4 mile racer?

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2006, 06:19 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Tips for a new 1/4 mile racer?

I ran at the track today (July 2 2006) and wasn't really that satisfied. I feel my car has more in it. First off, it's an M6. I ran a 13.6 @ 103 with a 2.2 60'. I deflated my tires to 22 psi and launched at 2000 RPM. Still spun out a LITTLE. Any suggestions from anyone who's gotten more out of a stock LS1?
Old 07-03-2006, 12:29 PM
7 Second Club

I'd not be too upset about those times with the 60 foot time you got with a stick car.

Practice is key, and the more you practice the better you'll get on launching and shifting.

Every car is different but I wouldn't drop tire pressure that low on street tires (not including drag radials) because they will start to cup and lose contact patch in the center, thus hindering traction instead of helping it.

I'm not an expert in 6-speed launching but you have a few tenths left in the bank and should be able to get down to a 2.0 60 foot time, and that plus cooler weather should get you in the 13.teens I'd think.

Search around the last few months of threads for tips and you'll find lots of info.

Good luck!

Derek
Old 07-03-2006, 01:09 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I would look at learning a little clutch "modulation" (that's what I call it, some call it feathering).