Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

paint reaction question?????

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2006, 06:20 PM
TECH Resident

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default paint reaction question?????

i know if you spray enamels vs. laquers etc that u get these types of problems. but i keep it clean it has like 5 coats of primer , and after it happened, i snaded it all down with 400 grit and it came back!!!! anybody know why this would happen and how to remedy this. overall its looking good, this is after 3 coats of base. oh and on the first 2 coats it didnt do this.

Attached Thumbnails paint reaction question?????-basecoat.jpg   paint reaction question?????-wtf.jpg  
Old 07-21-2006, 01:50 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

now i could be wrong, since i just started painting a year or so ago... but it looks as if you are applying the coats of paint before the flash time is up... maybe you are using to "cool" of a reducer?
Old 07-21-2006, 05:10 PM
TECH Resident

i had to swith to a slow because the medium was dring too quick. its been around 100 degrees out everyday this week and humed as heck. but i just talked to my paint store and they said that the slowere reducer is soaking into the lower layer because its more aggressive. normally i would lay all my base and within like an hour lay down the clear its just been too hot to work more than an hour at a time. and the power went out 2 daysd this week(cameback for like 12 hours then out again.....) so i had to stop in between. hopefully switching back to the medium will solve this . if so i'll post up pics in case anyone else runs int ot hisproblem.

and yeah, now that you mention it i dont think i was really letting it flash long enough (maybe 10 minutes). but i was sweating and wanted to go back in the house.
Old 07-21-2006, 05:58 PM
On The Tree