Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

When replacing the slave what else?....

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2006, 01:20 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default When replacing the slave what else?....

I need to fix my Z/28. With the engine running, the trans will not shift into any gear, it feels "blocked" and the shifter only moves a short distance in any direction from neutral. When I turn the car off, it shifts freely into every gear like there is no problem.
Multiple people have suggested the problem is hydrulic. That is making me think its the slave. If I try to replace the slave, do I have to drop the tranny like doing a complete clutch job? If so, do I need to replace anything else besides the slave?

I just want to make sure if I buy a slave, I don't miss replacing something that should have been done while in there. I have never done any clutch/tranny work before and in my garage is tough enough without making a bonehead mistake, and having to do it over again.

Thanks in advance for any help..........
Old 09-12-2006, 01:35 PM
TECH Resident

Location: Richmond, VA Where fast cars, well......are hard to come by.

If you get the slave from gm all you have to do is pull the tranny out and unbolt the old and put the new on and put the tranny back in.
Old 09-12-2006, 02:05 PM
TECH Apprentice

It is a good idea to check your clutch too while you are there, if it is close to going out you might as well replace so you don't have to drop the tranny again in a couple of months. Also when I replaced my slave I got a new master cylinder just to make sure I would not have any problems later. But that is just me i wanted to do every thing at once.
Old 09-12-2006, 02:56 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hows your pedal pressure on the clutch? Is there hydraulic fluid in the reservoir, and does it look like clean clear brake fluid? Could be a binding pressure plate.
Old 09-13-2006, 09:57 AM
Teching In