Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4l60e install help

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2007, 03:34 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4l60e install help

does someone have a "how to" for installing a 4l60e / torque converter? Im an aircraft mechanic so Ive got no problem with the maintenance part. Im only concerned because I bought my 98 camaro from a friend who dropped a $2800 tranny in that lasted 4 days. I now have a new identical tranny/torque converter ready for install but I don't want to have it end up the same. Is there a gm guide with torque settings and install steps availible??
Old 08-15-2007, 12:42 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Wow, that's an awfully expensive transmission to fail in such a short period of time. Any idea what the failure was?

Installing an automatic transmission is not all that difficult, especially if you are mechanically inclined and have a decent tool kit.

The cooler lines seem to be a bit of an issue for 1st timers. You will need to take a pick with a sharp point or a small pocket screwdriver to release the clips that hold the cooler lines to the fittings at the side of the case prior to removing the tranny.

The one important issue you want to concern yourself with is the installation of the torque converter to the transmission. It is installed prior to installing the transmission to the engine. It can be difficult at times... you will know it is installed properly when you can no longer slide your fingers between the converter and the transmission front pump.

If you have any questions give me a call and I woill walk you through it.

g
Old 08-15-2007, 02:08 PM
TECH Apprentice

You are always on top of my questions Ratchthed! I can not confirm what happened exactly but after reading up I've come to 2 conclusions..but first the story.