Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

New Member deciding on a car (GTO or Trans Am)

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2007, 10:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member deciding on a car (GTO or Trans Am)

Hey everyone, I just joined up, but have been a lurker here for a while. I'm a freshman in college, and next year will be getting a full ride scholarship for the rest of my years. So in order to build up my credit instead of student loans my parents are going to co-sign a car loan for me, and I'm going to get my first "real car" that will last longer than a year or two. I do work in summer and through college and can afford a 15,000 dollar loan with about a 5-6,000 down payment and a thousand left in case of repair / maintanence.

I want the car to have an ls engine in it, so that's how I found this place. But I can't decide between a low milage 98-02 trans am (w/ws6), or a GTO. From what I've read and heard the interior is quite a bit nicer and more comfortable in the GTO's, but you can't beat the exterior styling of a Trans Am. The T/A's also come in convertible and T-Top styles, which I would really love to have. Then again the GTO has the perfect fit in, not call the cop's attention appearance.

I know either car will be a great choice, and I have a shadow to drive in the winter, but I'm just looking for some other people's opinions too. Insurance would also be less on a Trans Am, but I'll be able to afford insurance either way.

Thanks guys, and look forward to having a blast here whatever I get!

-Tim-

Last edited by koenigderloewen; 09-08-2007 at 10:31 AM.
Old 09-08-2007, 10:31 AM
Teching In

welcome to the site.I have a 2000ta and personally id take that anyday over the GTO,the interior isnt a problem for me.and the transam just looks bad ***.Good luck with your decision,let us know what you come up with!
Old 09-08-2007, 11:27 AM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts