Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

what do u think is the problem? Slave or master cylinder?

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2007, 09:40 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default what do u think is the problem? Slave or master cylinder?

My clutch gets soft during wot runs. I've changed the fluid to dot 4 and bled the system. I also wrapped the line to protect it from the heat from the headers. So i think either the master or slave is bad. But i'm not an expert or know that much about clutches so i need your opinions. So what do u think the problem is?

Thanks
Old 11-03-2007, 04:24 PM
TECH Veteran

No opinions?
Old 11-04-2007, 01:46 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Need more info to help. What mods do you have and what clutch are you running. Clutch might not be up to the task any more.
Old 11-04-2007, 02:02 PM
TECH Veteran

Originally Posted by CW00BlackTA
Need more info to help. What mods do you have and what clutch are you running. Clutch might not be up to the task any more.
I have bolt ons. LT's, duals, lid, ported tb and a few other small things. I have an LS6 clutch thats about 1.5 years old. It has about 14k on it.
Old 11-04-2007, 02:12 PM
11 Second Club

Ive had my stock slave go soft and stick to the floor, with 2 different stock slaves. then i bought a 01-02 updated slave. my stock master went bad too, when that happens, the pedal felt the same to me, but i couldnt get it into gear easily, especially going into reverse. replaced that with a ram adj master and never had a prob (knock on wood) if you have the money, get them both replaced at the same time and have the drill mod done too. and you shouldnt have to worry about any more problems! i still covered the whole master-to-slave line with high temp sparkplug boots and routed the line as far away from the header as possible just to be safe!

Clutch Care (very good write up) http://www.rangeracceleration.com/Clutch_Care.html