Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS1 Install Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2007, 07:18 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default LS1 Install Question

I am getting ready to install an LS1 and 4L60E trans into a 62 Chevy II. My question is can I attach the trans to the engine and then install them both, or should I install the engine and then install the trans after the engine is in place?

My concern is the additional weight of the trans when the engine is being picked. I am using a leveling bar with 4 chains that will be attached at each corner to existing holes on the engine heads. I have installed the engine and trans combo many times, but this is my first time with an aluminum engine.

It is a lot easier to install the trans to the engine while it is out of the car. Has anyone installed the engine/trans combo together or know if this will be a problem.

Thanks for the help.
Old 12-19-2007, 07:23 AM
rao
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You can do them together - people do it all of the time
Old 12-19-2007, 09:42 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

They do SBC and BBC all the time with both attached together.. the LS1 weight about 100 lbs less than a SBC... so.. don't worry.. just make it easy on yourself and do them together....
Old 12-19-2007, 09:59 AM
TECH Fanatic

It is WAY easier to install both at once. Have a hleper or two to watch clearances, and it helps if you can have the vehicle raised little. Then you can stab the trans down behind the crossmember, lower everything, and then tilt it into place. It is a lot easier if you have the radiator and core support out as well since you don't have to lift as high.
Old 12-19-2007, 11:01 AM
Launching!

i do them togther all the time even with a transfercase on sometimes
Old 12-19-2007, 12:14 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts