General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

dropping motor/cradle - any advice?

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2008, 06:25 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question dropping motor/cradle - any advice?

i've never done this before, but i'm going to be dropping the cradle out of my SS in a couple days, motor/tranny/k-member assy.

wondering what the tricks were? i know i need to unhook the battery, unplug every sensor on the motor & tranny (T56), remove the driveshaft, drain all the fluids, unbolt strut tower bolts and the k-member bolts to drop it all out...

anything i'm forgeting/didn't mention? any tricks? i plan on using some old wheels to put underneath the car's rear wheels. i have a cherry picker ready to go to lift the car. i'm going to (maybe) use my creeper to lay the engine/tranny/k-member assy. on and roll out from under the car. anyone think that's a bad idea? what did you all use?

thanks,
ben
Old 02-20-2008, 08:16 PM
On The Tree

It would be easier with a lift but you prolly know that. One trick we noticed when we swapped my motor was to undo the upper ball joint and the lower strut bolt and they can stay in the car and you don't have to mess with the master cylinder.
Old 02-20-2008, 11:02 PM
TECH Addict

that's not a bad idea i suppose, anybody else got anything? what are you all using for your "cart" to get the motor/tranny out from under the car? or is there another method? obviously i don't have a lift or i wouldn't have posted this thread
Old 02-21-2008, 04:50 PM
10 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts