LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

Not Happy about my trans

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2013, 07:35 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Not Happy about my trans

I'm sure many of you have or had trans problems with your cars. So I need some suggestions on how I can go about this.
I bought my GXP two weeks ago from the local dealer and thought I got a good deal on this used 06 GP GXP. 3 days after purchase the SES light came on. No biggie, its an emissions code. Also has a missfire code. Figure its due for a tune up. So I'm not too worried about these problems.
Now the transmission slips in first gear taking off from a stop sign/light when its nice and warmed up. As a former auto mechanic, I pride myself that I can test drive a car and give an accurate description of a car's condition and general health. But this one blindsided me after I signed the purchase agreement. I test drove this car twice, put almost 50 miles on it and never noticed any trans problems knowing these cars have a history of them. Now its rearing its ugly head.
I drive this car everyday and I do get on it once in a while but I never beat on it mercilessly. Obviously the previous owner knew what was happening and traded it in asap. And I got hosed.
I didn't buy an extended warranty for it since I fix my own cars but I realize now that was a huge mistake. I haven't even made the first payment on it. I like this car a lot and think its the perfect car for myself and it still holds the whole family. And the wife can drive it easily and likes it too.
I've read some of the trans articles that are stickied on the top of this forum but I got tired after page 5 of looking at it. I'd rather hear everyone's personal issues that they've had with their trans.
So my question is, what are my options?