LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

93 LT1 Computer Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2009, 01:44 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default 93 LT1 Computer Question

I have a 93 Formula LT1 M6 and I'm just learning about the awesome speed density system (cough cough) and i just ordered a mild performance chip and I want to know how easy it is to install the chip in my computer and where its located. Your help would be appreciated
Old 06-24-2009, 07:41 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Very easy. Remove the two 10mm bolts holding down the ECU bracket then the two 1/2in (i think) retaining nuts holding the bracket onto the ECU itself. After the bracket is removed, there are 4 small bolts u need to remove (either a 7mm something else in sae). After you remove that cover, just push down on the tabs on each side of the factory chip and it will pop out. Repeat process but backwards
Old 06-24-2009, 11:16 AM
On The Tree

probably a good idea to disconnect your battery first though.
dont fry something!
Old 06-24-2009, 11:31 AM
TECH Junkie

Originally Posted by blackhawk400
probably a good idea to disconnect your battery first though.
dont fry something!

I would only hope he's smart enough to do that without someone's advice. Plus, you won't fry anything if you leave the battery connected (I accidentally left it connected and everything was fine).
Old 06-24-2009, 11:40 AM
On The Tree

yeah, good chance everything will be fine, but ya never know. its a good idea anytime youre working with circuits or cpu's
Old 06-24-2009, 11:46 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by 93M6Formula
I have a 93 Formula LT1 M6 and I'm just learning about the awesome speed density system (cough cough) and i just ordered a mild performance chip and I want to know how easy it is to install the chip in my computer and where its located. Your help would be appreciated