LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Tuning- what ALL do I need

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2010, 05:51 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Tuning- what ALL do I need

I'm tired of looking for someone to correct my speedometer. No one wants to work on the car without doing a full tune and I don't want to pay for a full tune when I'm planning on modding the car. I don't want to do a mailorder tune because I'm not 100% sure of the details on the car such as previous tune and If my rear is a 390 Or 410 etc.

I'm gonna get into tuning and am a complete beginner. So tell me, what all do I need to start tuning.

I know I'll need laptop, cable and some sort of scanning/tuning software. Which is the most simple. Basically I'll start with speedometer, shift points, and fan temperature commands. Then after I get the basics I'll start the "real" tuning.
Old 08-16-2010, 06:05 PM
TECH Apprentice

I've had tunercat and freescan for a couple months and it's really easy to work with and understand. You'll also need a cable that connects to your labtop. If you have vista or windows seven it can be difficult to install but other than that, it's rather easy. just save your initial tune b/c you will do somethings your car does not like. wait what year is your car? I've only done obd1
Old 08-16-2010, 06:13 PM
TECH Fanatic

Obd1.

Can I just buy a cheap netbook to use? I know alot of them have windows xp.
I have a desktop and don't want to buy a $500+ on a laptop to use for tuning. I gave access to a laptop but would rather get my own.

How much is tunercat?
Old 08-16-2010, 06:18 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by IronOutlaw
Obd1.

Can I just buy a cheap netbook to use? I know alot of them have windows xp.
I have a desktop and don't want to buy a $500+ on a laptop to use for tuning. I gave access to a laptop but would rather get my own.

How much is tunercat?