LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

vibration issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2014, 06:56 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default vibration issue

have a freshly rebuilt lt1 in 95 t/a replaced the torque converter after first start because vibration was really bad, after replacing vibration got a lot better but still likes to vibrate at highway speeds, and every now and then when I come to a stop the rpm fluctuates and car vibrates then it goes back to normal. Could it be the transmission? pretty lost and dont know where to go now
Old 08-22-2014, 08:05 PM
TECH Addict

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Can you list all your mods?
Old 08-22-2014, 08:10 PM
Teching In

just removed egr valve, air pump, and catalytic converter
Old 08-22-2014, 08:29 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I'm still pretty new to the F-Body world, but I've had a 95 Camaro (why does it say that Camaro is spelled wrong?) with a horrible vibration issue. It seems to haunt the 93-97 Camaros/T/A more than the 98-02, no idea why but regardless I started blaming so much stuff on the vibration (driveshaft, misfire, transmission, miscellaneous suspension, and steering.) The worst thing you can do is start throwing money on your car hoping it will fix it, this comes from experience, but the best thing you can do is try independent tests on certain parts that may be causing the vibration and checking out individual parts and seeing if they are bad. I don't want to say this but it could be a whole pile of things that could be causing your vibration, but don't get your hopes down, it just takes a little time to pinpoint down to what is causing the vibration and when you fix it, it feels awesome. On another note, how bad is the shaking, is your steering wheel vibrating back and forth at all at highway speeds, and does it seem to get a lot worse when you brake while it's shaking?
Old 08-22-2014, 09:01 PM
Village Troll

Received 518 Likes on 374 Posts