LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Early ls1 help??!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2015, 09:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Early ls1 help??!!!!

Good morning, i have a 94 camaro ls1 issue. I'm a seasoned gm tech., and had a guy approach me with a box of go fast parts and asked if i'd install them. Being a motor head i said yes and dug in. He brought me a new performance cam, lifters, timing chain and gears, intake, throttle body, injectors, cap & rotor, plugs and wires. Since the installation the engine pings on moderate throttle pretty bad. Knock sensor counts climb, timing changes 20 degrees, still pings terrible. The cam he provided was for an 05' which has a differant distr. Drive dowel as opposed to the 94 distr. Being driven by the center of the cam sprocket (all the parts he supplied were for an 05', the timing chain and gear set was wrong, i found out after in installed them, i put a new set in for a 94'). I suspect the cam for the 05' cannot and will not work properly in this 94' engine due to a differance in timing....can anyone verify this??
Old 08-12-2015, 11:49 AM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,492 Likes on 1,074 Posts

Sounds like you're talking about an LT1, and probably mean '94 and '95 (vs. '94 and '05 posted above.) There is no distributor at all on an LS1 engine, nor do any parts interchange between a '94 LT1 and an '05 "LS" style engine.

So, I'm moving this to the LT1 section....
Old 08-12-2015, 12:05 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Early LS1....lol...good one! You need more details of the actual year of the engine and what cam he bought...part numbers or pics would be helpful.

Last edited by ahritchie; 08-12-2015 at 12:11 PM.
Old 08-12-2015, 12:37 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts

LS swap?
Old 08-12-2015, 01:02 PM
Village Troll

Received 518 Likes on 374 Posts

Originally Posted by LS1 NIGHTMARE