LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

383 needing direction

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2006, 06:31 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 383 needing direction

Alright, this is my first build up for an lt1 and posting here.. I know some of my questions have been asked before but every engine is different..
I'm building a 94 camaro with an all forged 383 with H-beam rods and flat top pistons. I'm usin gapless total seal rings. Ported out stock heads with stock valves. Large double valve springs with a dampner and titanium 10 deg keepers..not sure on the spring pressure. Pro magnum lifters and 1.6 roller rockers, reg push rods. ported intake manifold for the bbk 58mm tb. stock injectors still. Pacesetter long tubes w/ y pipe and a cut out... stock muffler to look... stock New opti with the Delteq system. The questions i have are what would be a good cam for this combo? I was thinking of an lt4 hot cam set up but with .550 lift? (let me know if thats a bad idea) Who makes a good harmonic balancer for a good price? What cylinder head gasket should I run? Who makes a complete gaskets and seal kit of the lt1? Is getting the meziere electric water pump worth it? If it is what, what timing chain should I run? I have a hughes built perf 4L60E with a 2500 stall. It only has a stage 1 shift kit in it should I go for stage 2? Will the stock pcm run this engine? or will I need to have it tuned? I know i should tune it. Other mods are, HD universals on the rebalanced driveshaft and 3.42s in the back. The car has full polly mounts sus/eng/trans. billstien HD shocks in front. tokico adj shocks in the back, with the hotchkis control arms and panhard bar, with the front upper strut stablizer. Could ya guys help me out? thanks Travis
Old 08-15-2006, 07:33 AM
9 Second Club