LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Next mod...not sure what to do but I have an idea.

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2007, 08:44 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Next mod...not sure what to do but I have an idea.

I'm stuck on what to do next. I'm a full time student, and I work all the time, but I still never have much money to put into the car. I'll finally have 6 or 7 hundred to do a nice mod, and I want to see what you guys have to say. Car is my daily driver, although that doesn't matter much.

Only mods are a CAI, Hooker cat-back, and small things other than that. Car's an automatic. Doesn't get tracked much...maybe 3 or 4 times a year.

I think this mod should be something to make the car seem quicker in a straight line. Suspension, or a set of wheels/tires would be nice, but the car just feels too slow right now.

1. Gears. I would be going 3.73s, and the SOTP difference would be pretty impressive I'm guessing. I don't really see a downside to swapping, other than spending money that could be saved for a twelve bolt, but a 12 bolt or 9 inch is out of the question right now.

2. LT headers and TDs. I love the sound of a loud exhaust, especially an LT1. I'm guessing SOTP difference would be nice after this as well, but not as much as the gears. Not to mention seeing turndowns under the car would be bad-***

3. Stall. I'm not really considering this too much yet, but I figured I would throw it in here. With the LT1's low-end tq. and stock 2.73s in the car right now, I don't really think this would be worth it yet.

What would you guys start with? Am I missing anything else that I should consider?
Old 05-26-2007, 09:10 PM
On The Tree

longtubes, took 4 tenths off my quater mile.
Old 05-26-2007, 09:14 PM
Banned