LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Installing Longtubes this weekend

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2008, 02:07 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Installing Longtubes this weekend

Ok, I know this thread has been rehashed and beat to ****, and believe me, I've read them all, but I've never worked on cars before and have zero experience installing headers.

First off, I have a 1996 Trans Am. I ordered Pacesetter lt, ceramic coated, race style and the matching y pipe. I also have a Magnaflow catback coming in sometime later in the week.

Some of the topics that are unclear to me are o2 extensions, deleting AIR/EGR, installing the exhaust (will I need to weld anything), and if I need any special tools (torque wrench?).

The plan that I have come up with so far is:

1. Unplug the negative battery terminal.

And thats pretty much it. What should I do before I jack the car up/put it on ramps? Remove all the emissions stuff? If so, can I buy all the block off plates at autzone/napa? I can only get to most of the header bolts when the car is in the air, right?

Then I unbolt the stock y pipe. And before I get to the manifolds, I guess I will remove the stock exhaust, seeing as how I am replacing it. Then, is it just a matter of removing enough stuff (wires, plugs, dipstick)to make room to bolt in the headers? After I get the headers bolted in, I'll have to route all of the wires. Is it just a matter of ziptying them far enough away from all the pipes?

O2 sensors: I know the headers come with wire to extend your stock o2 (splice job right). Is an O2 extension just wire with a male/female connection to clip on to your stock wire? And can I buy these at napa (universal fit) Will I need a special tool to get the o2 sensors out?