LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Just picked up an MSD Opti, would you like my opinion?

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2008, 01:08 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Just picked up an MSD Opti, would you like my opinion?

The best answer you can give to my title is "NO, your OPINION means NOTHING!".....

But in all seriousness, I just got my pro-billet optispark in the mail and its going on the LT1 hawk before the 3rd (whenever I get off my lazy *** and get it done).......Just checking the forums here to see if you guys would like me to post up impressions/actual results.

I have seen alot of posts asking about optis, MSD optis, how well they work, what to get, is it worth the money ect (Yes, I lurk alot ).... So I figured I could give a little first hand input as I have one in my hands, and I know a thing or two about the system so I can put some of these threads to rest.

I am a trained GM tech, and have many years experience with a wide range of vehicles.....Especially y/b/f bodies as we ALL know they are the best! (LT1 or LS1 alike)

My Initial thoughts? :

This thing looks awsome, but we have ALLLLL seen it....Nice machined billet backing, NEW high/low res sensors and timing adjustment screw, the rotor lost some weight and "apparently" is better balanced, brass contacts, extra screws to hold it togeather and to top it off, a BRAND new opti harness is included with all of them (as far as I know). Looks to be made of a "better" composite material also....