Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Spec clutch Yes or No?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2012, 10:32 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spec clutch Yes or No?

I recently got an ls1 drop out of a gto for my 87 notch. I pulled the trans to find a spec clutch. Was debating on using because I have heard good and bad about them. It is either a stage 2 or 2+ and I am hoping for around 400whp. It has some life left on it but there are grooves on pressure plate/clutch disc. Not sure if I should go ahead and use it or just get an ls7 clutch. Here are some pics what do you guys think?

Old 01-27-2012, 09:48 PM
On The Tree

I am a major newbie to these forums, but my vote is LS7 - I have had several friends over the past decade that have owned F-bodies and the spec clutches never seem to fair very well. A friend with an 02 WS6 had his spec stage 2 wear completely out in less than a year (with basic bolt ons). Another friend had a higher horsepower setup (500 whp) with a spec stage 5 and the clutch wouldn't even hold on in 4th/5th gear.. it would slip like crazy.

Last edited by Onyx_Black_Z28; 06-14-2020 at 07:19 PM.
Old 01-28-2012, 01:19 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 87 Likes on 78 Posts

that clutch does have some life left in it...but with that said it is like putting on used brake pads and given a clutch swap is more labor intensive than a brake job I would replace it with a new clutch and resurface the FW if it is within spec.

My experience with the 2+ was it held well the 1st season but died a horrible death on starting line season 2. If the car is mostly strip only Kevlar may be OK but on a street driven car it will glaze and not hold as well in just stop/go city driving use. Not saying SPEC makes a bad product but Kevlar is not a disc friction material I would use again on a street/strip car.