Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Bleeding a Tick Master Properly

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2012, 03:41 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Bleeding a Tick Master Properly

Hi everyone, I’m a total newb when it comes to modding cars so I have to do a ton of research before I can comfortably mess with anything on my Z28. I was having some high rpm shift issues (wouldn't go into third sometimes), even though I have a Tick master cylinder. Turns out I was bleeding it wrong. I pm’d Martin@Tick (Martin Smallwood) and he was kind enough to give me a detailed set of instructions for the process.

Martin:

“Try this then, unhook the line from the master to the slave at the slave cylinder.

Get a buddy for this one.

There is a check valve in the brass/gold colored fitting at the end of that line that your helper will need to press in only after you have pressure on the clutch pedal. Once you have your foot resting on the clutch pedal (it will be rock solid firm with the line unhooked) have your helper press the valve in with a screw driver or pen while you pump downwards on the clutch and hold it there.

Hold the clutch to the floor until the fluid is done coming out of the line for that single pump. Have your helper let off the check valve, count to three and then release the clutch pedal. Repeat this process catching the fluid in a bottle or jar and if it's new clean fluid return it back to the reservoir to repeat this process again until you have filled and emptied the reservoir at least 2-3 times through the master. Then move to the slave cylinder side after installing your speed bleeder and bleeding the slave from there.