Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Mcleod clutch, what do I need?

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2005, 09:42 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Mcleod clutch, what do I need?

I have a stock master and slave cylinder? On a 02 T/A. Do they need to be upgraded for the Mcleod twin disc clutch?
Old 11-29-2005, 10:01 PM
wrencher

I would definately say a McLeod master is needed for the twin disc.
It is not a diaphram spring pressure plate. It's a coil spring/lever style pressure plate for the twin's. They are suppost to require the special master.
I have the set up love it. Had to rebuild the master, but now it is like a switch on/off.
Old 11-29-2005, 10:59 PM
TECH Regular

can you elaborate on this a little more? Ever since you rebuilt the master your clutch has been an on/off switch?
Old 11-30-2005, 08:10 AM
wrencher

Well Mcleod/CNC masters are known to be problematic in the out of box form. Rebuilding them seems to be the cure. (search here)
Now mine is like a switch it releases in such a short amount of pedal travel, it takes a little getting used to. I drive it on the street & lauch it 5K+ w/slicks at the track, the clutch has been good to me.
Old 11-30-2005, 10:36 AM
11 Second Club

Originally Posted by wrencher
Well Mcleod/CNC masters are known to be problematic in the out of box form. Rebuilding them seems to be the cure. (search here)
Now mine is like a switch it releases in such a short amount of pedal travel, it takes a little getting used to. I drive it on the street & lauch it 5K+ w/slicks at the track, the clutch has been good to me.
how many miles do you have on it? and how many miles of breaking in did you do? overall are you happy with it?
Old 11-30-2005, 12:21 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by wrencher