Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Nervous shifting gears 1-2

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2006, 10:04 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nervous shifting gears 1-2

I just got my 01 SS about two weeks ago. I've been getting used to the clutch and a couple times I've gotten on it pretty good. When I did it just didn't seem to want to go smoothly into second gear around 5000/5500 rpms. Instead of forcing it into second I just held in the clutch and waited, then put it in second gear.

Is this kind of resistance normal and I just need to grow a pair and jam it into gear? I'd really not like to take any chances as I don't have the money for a new clutch/tranny at the moment .

Last edited by Scotty562; 07-11-2006 at 10:12 PM.
Old 07-11-2006, 11:01 PM
TECH Regular

I'm no expert but it shouldnt be hard to get into gear period. I have the stock clutch on mine and usually shift at ~6500 and it shifts very easily. Actually i think it's easier to shift WOT than it is cruising
Old 07-12-2006, 06:14 AM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by Scotty562
I just got my 01 SS about two weeks ago. I've been getting used to the clutch and a couple times I've gotten on it pretty good. When I did it just didn't seem to want to go smoothly into second gear around 5000/5500 rpms. Instead of forcing it into second I just held in the clutch and waited, then put it in second gear.

Is this kind of resistance normal and I just need to grow a pair and jam it into gear? I'd really not like to take any chances as I don't have the money for a new clutch/tranny at the moment .
im having the same problem the 2nd gear just locks out when reving high...